Press Release: Governor Appoints Executive Committee on Energy Efficiency

Four Members Also Serve on VAEEC Governance Board

The Virginia Energy Efficiency Council (VAEEC) is pleased to share the news that today Gov. McAuliffe appointed the members of the new Governor’s Executive Committee on Energy Efficiency. The Committee was created by the governor as part of the Virginia Energy Plan published in October, and it will be chaired by the state’s Chief Energy Efficiency Officer, Hayes Framme. The Committee is tasked with developing strategies to meet the state’s longstanding voluntary goal of reducing energy consumption in Virginia by 10% over 2006 levels by 2022 – a deadline that the governor has indicated should be moved up to 2020.

Statement by Ken Rosenfeld, VAEEC Executive Director:

“The creaton of the Governor’s Executive Committee on Energy Efficiency reflects the administration’s commitment to making energy efficiency a pillar of the Commonwealth’s energy future. The VAEEC applauds Governor McAuliffe for appointing this impressive group to accomplish its important work.  The state’s 10% energy efficiency goal has been on the books for years, but without any plan to achieve it. This Committee has enormous potential to move energy efficiency forward in the Commonwealth, and to meet our efficiency goal in a way that generates significant benefits in terms of energy savings, financial savings, and job creation. The roster includes four VAEEC Governance Board members — Cynthia Adams, Bill Greenleaf, David Koogler and Saifur Rahman – and many other VAEEC member organization are represented as well; in total this is a remarkable collection of individuals who understand these issues in great detail. We look forward to working with the Committee to help ensure that every perspective is considered and to support its work in any way possible.”

Read the governor’s announcement.

The full list of appointees to the Governor’s Executive Committee on Energy Efficiency:

  • Cynthia Adams of Charlottesville, Executive Director, Local Energy Alliance Program (LEAP)*
  • Ken Barker of Richmond, Vice President, Customer Solutions & Energy Conservation, Dominion Virginia Power
  • Carol Davis of Blacksburg, Sustainability Manager, Town of Blacksburg
  • Jim Fawcett of Charleston, West Virginia, Manager, Energy Efficiency & Alternative Energy Initiatives, Appalachian Power Company
  • Bill Greenleaf of Richmond, Loan Officer, Virginia Community Capital, Inc.*
  • David Koogler of Hanover, Vice President, Customer Services, Rappahannock Electric Cooperative*
  • Angela Navarro of Charlottesville, Staff Attorney, Southern Environmental Law Center
  • Michele Peterson of Richmond, Senior Energy Business Consultant, Honeywell
  • Bill Prindle of Charlottesville, Vice President, ICF International
  • Saifur Rahman of McLean, Joseph Loring Professor and Director, Advanced Research Institute, Virginia Tech*
  • William Reisinger of Richmond, Assistant Attorney General, Office of the Attorney General of Virginia
  • Dana Wiggins of Richmond, Responsible Lending Coordinator, Virginia Poverty Law Center

*VAEEC Governance Board Member

Comments are closed.