















December 22, 2023

Creigh Deeds Senator Senate of Virginia P.O. Box 396 Richmond, VA 23218

Jeion Ward
Delegate
Virginia House of Delegates
Pocahontas Building
900 E. Main Street
Richmond, VA 23219

Dear Chair-Elect Deeds and Chair-Elect Ward:

As you look ahead to the 2024 legislative session and consider the selection of two Commissioners to fill the vacancies on the State Corporation Commission (SCC), we, the undersigned, urge you to select individuals whose experience positions them to be highly effective regulators.

These selections come at a critical time when the SCC will be making important decisions related to Virginia's clean energy policy.

In 2020, the General Assembly passed the Virginia Clean Economy Act, which charts a thoughtful and bold course for transitioning the state to 100% clean energy in the years ahead.

More broadly, today's energy system is undergoing seismic change. Successfully navigating this transition—ensuring that all Virginians realize the benefits of zero-carbon technologies—will be a monumental task.

In the years ahead, the SCC will play a central role in translating and implementing this clean energy transition.

To that end, we strongly encourage you to consider individuals who:

- Possess demonstrated technical expertise with respect to energy policy and utility regulation;
- Have the academic background and professional experience that enables them to effectively implement the Virginia Clean Economy Act;
- Reflect the diversity of the Commonwealth in all of its forms, including gender, race, and socioeconomics;
- Have not recently represented regulated Virginia utilities before the Commission; and
- Understand the perspectives of a wide array of stakeholders and can balance those perspectives to arrive at fair-minded and well-informed decisions.

We appreciate your thoughtful consideration of this matter.

Sincerely,

Zach Amittay	Robin Dutta Executive Director (Acting) Chesapeake Solar and Storage Association	Chelsea Harnish	Kim Jemaine
Southeast Advocate		Executive Director	Director
E2 (Environmental		Virginia Energy	Advanced Energy
Entrepreneurs)		Efficiency Council	United
Connor Kish Director, Virginia Sierra Club	Walton Shepherd Virginia State Director & Senior Attorney Natural Resources Defense Council	Blair St. Ledger-Olson Legislative Director Climate Cabinet Action	Mike Town Executive Director Virginia League of Conservation Voters

CC:

Scott Surovell, Senator Senate of Virginia

Don Scott, Delegate Virginia House of Delegates